Cast & Crew

Browse more filmmakers:  

James Murphy


James Murphy is the leader of the Grammy Award-nominated New York City band LCD Soundsystem, as well as a DJ, producer, composer, and label head.

Long a fixture on the downtown NYC music scene, Mr. Murphy has over the past decade achieved international prominence. He co-founded the DFA label, whose roster includes Hercules and Love Affair, Hot Chip, YACHT, the Juan Maclean, and his own LCD Soundsystem.

LCD Soundsystem released its self-titled debut album in 2005, which featured the underground classics “Losing My Edge” and “Daft Punk Is Playing At My House,” and which received two Grammy Award nominations. The band’s second album “Sound of Silver” was released in 2007 to rave reviews and a Grammy nomination. “Sound of Silver” was preceded by a 45:33 EP featuring the singles “North American Scum,” “Someone Great,” and “All My Friends;” Time Magazine ranked the latter at #4 among the Best Songs of 2007.

In 2008, LCD Soundsystem contributed the track “Big Ideas” to the soundtrack of Robert Luketic’s hit movie 21. The band has since released the 45:33 “Remixes” EP and a cover of the Alan Vega song “Bye Bye Bayou,” issued to commemorate Record Store Day.

Greenberg marks Mr. Murphy’s first foray into film scoring. He is currently at work on the third LCD Soundsystem album, due out in 2010.