Cast & Crew

Browse more filmmakers:  

Jay Van Hoy and Lars Knudsen

In 2004, producing partners Lars Knudsen and Jay Van Hoy established Parts & Labor, a production company dedicated to director-driven, collaborative filmmaking. Integral to the company’s vision and consistency is an unwavering dedication to each project, respect for the process, and a true love of film.

In October 2008, Parts & Labor signed a first-look/development deal with producer Scott Rudin. That same year, at the Toronto International Film Festival, Variety singled out Messrs. Knudsen and Van Hoy in its annual list of “10 Producers to Watch;” and they were nominated for the [Independent] Spirit Award for producing. In addition, they have been included in Filmmaker Magazine’s annual list of “25 New Faces of Independent Film” and on Paste Magazine's Top 10 list of “Arthouse Powerhouse Producers;” most recently, The New York Observer named Messrs. Knudsen and Van Hoy two of  “The  Insurgents of 2010: 50 People Shaping the Next New York.”

Last year, in addition to Beginners, Parts & Labor premiered Cam Archer's S—t Year, starring Ellen Barkin, in the Directors’ Fortnight at the Cannes International Film Festival; and Aaron Katz’ critically acclaimed third feature, Cold Weather, at South by Southwest. The latter was released theatrically by IFC Films in February 2011.

Braden King’s Here, filmed in Armenia and starring Ben Foster and Lubna Azabal, recently had its world premiere in competition at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival and had its international premiere at the 2011 Berlin International Film Festival, where it took home the CICAE Art Cinema Award.

Julia Loktev’s The Loneliest Planet, shot last summer in the Republic of Georgia and starring Gael Garcia Bernal and Hani Furstenburg, is currently in post-production.

Previous productions include Kelly Reichardt’s acclaimed Old Joy; Cam Archer’s Wild Tigers I Have Known; Steve Collins’ Gretchen; Spencer Parsons’ I’ll Come Running; Nik Fackler’s Lovely, Still; So Yong Kim’s Treeless Mountain; Cruz Angeles’ Don’t Let Me Drown; Bradley Rust Gray’s The Exploding Girl; and David Barker’s Daylight.